College Featured NCAA

Loyola wins Patriot League with victories over Colgate, Lehigh

Photo credit: craig chase Loyola mens lacrosse 2014 Patriot League champions

Photo Credit: Craig Chase

The Loyola Greyhounds are the outright 2014 Patriot League champions!

First year members of the league, the Greyhounds wasted no time winning the conference tourney, moving them on to the NCAA Tournament for the 3rd time in 3 years.

Loyola Hit GIF

Matt Sawyer led the team with four goals while five other Loyola players had two or more goals, and six others finished with multi-point games. Goal keeper Jack Runkel, who was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player, earned 15 saves and had 27 in the championships. Runkel was named to the All-Tournament Team along with teammates Joe Fletcher, Brain Schultz and Justin Ward.

The Hounds move on to face the Bluejays of Johns Hopkins in Baltimore at noon EST on Saturday.

Take a look at some of the photos from the Greyhounds march to the championship!

About the author

Mark Donahue

Currently spreading his wings in the Emerald City, Mark is an Ohioan through and through and is also the editor, video guy, and box lacrosse junkie at When he’s not obsessing over lax at LAS HQ or officiating a game somewhere, you can probably find him on the slopes or at the disc golf course.

There are no comments

Share your opinion

Yes No