The JuCo Report: 11 Days From A Champion


The NJCAA Championships will be held on May 11th and 12th at Nassau CC in Garden City. The field is figured out and we’re entering the most important 12 days of JuCo lacrosse for the year. It’s time to decide who the best NJCAA team is in 2013!

Main Photo Credit: Chip Green

The Playoff Picture

Tournament Seeding:

#1 – Onondaga CC – Region 3
#2 – Genesee CC – Region 3
#3 – Nassau CC – Region 15
#4 – CCBC – Essex – Region 20
#5 – Harford CC – Region 20
#6 – Brookdale CC – Region 19

OCC won Region 3 East, and Genesee won Region 3 West. OCC beat Genesee 15-8, but both the East and West get AQ slots. ASA beat Suffolk and played Nassau for the Region 15 bid. Nassau won that game and took the #3 slot. Essex won Region 20, Brookdale won Region 19, and Harford picked up the at-large bid for their second place finish in Region 20. As a reward, they get to play Essex again in the first round. Essex won the last game 9-8. Brookdale travels to Nassau, and OCC and Genesee get byes into the semifinal round.

Harford finsihed at 12-5 to get the at-large. Their tight game with Essex in the finals may have helped their case, as did their strong OOC and region schedules. Delhi finished the season at 12-4, but only played Dean and Brookdale out of conference, with a loss to Dean. Still, the 12-4 mark is the best in program history, and Delhi should be saluted for their improvement this year.

ASA, Suffolk, Howard, Anne Arundel, Monroe and Finger Lakes all had solid seasons they can be proud of, and hopefully with the expansion of NJCAA lacrosse, more of these teams can be included in the playoffs.

ASA Vs Suffolk Video

There are some absolutely unreal goals in this highlight tape put together by the guys over at Throne of String. Scott Baratta is a natural in front of the camera, and the Throne guys’ reactions to some of the goals are priceless. I left that in so you could hear the intensity of the game, and how into it the crowd was:

2013 Region III All Tourney Team:

Alex Howell – Monroe Community College

Sean Gilbane –  SUNY Delhi

Jake Guy – SUNY Delhi

Charlie Evans – Genesee CC

Brady Lawrence – Genesee CC

Cameron Seneca – Genesee CC

Logan Tousaw – Onondaga CC

Mike Chambers – Onondaga CC

Warren Hill – Onondaga CC

Randy Staats – Onondaga CC

Region III Player of the Year: Randy Staats – Onondaga Community College

Region III Coach of the Year: Chuck Wilbur – Onondaga Community College

2013 All-Mountain Valley Conference Team

Coach of the Year: Bob Leary – SUNY Delhi

Player of the Year: Andy Reilly – HVCC

Attack: Berek Martichusky (Herkimer), Devlin Clarke (Delhi), Jace Sowden (Herkimer)

Midfield: Blaine Stottlar (MVCC), Joe Moore (HVCC), Brian DeMott (Delhi), James Massett (Delhi), Nick DePalo (Herkimer), Shane Joswick (MVCC)

Defense: R.J. Blaesig (Herkimer), Kamaal Stanley (Delhi), Matt McCarthy (Herkimer)

Goalie: Jon Cooper (Herkimer)