Sections

Archive | Gear Reviews

Lax Splat wax mesh color fade

Gear Review: Lax Splat Mesh

0 - Published January 24, 2014 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

Lax Splat mesh is a new product on the market that we were excited to get our hands on. Our friend Beau, of Lax Splat, sent us some great samples…so let’s get reviewin’!

Gear Review: Metrik Head by Maverik Lacrosse

0 - Published January 7, 2014 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

After putting it through the ringer for the past few months, Mark Donahue has broken down the pros and cons of Maverik’s new elite level head, the Metrik. Read the full review to see if the Metrik is the head for you!

The Ultimate Face Off Head Review

0 - Published January 2, 2014 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

Faceoffs are a huge part of lacrosse, and finding the right equipment to get the job done can be a challenge. I approached Connor Wilson with the idea of reviewing college legal heads, specifically for faceoffs, and he was on board, knowing how important this aspect of the game can be. I’m hoping you find this resource to be useful!

Gear Review: Vapor Shaft by Nike Lacrosse

0 - Published November 13, 2013 by in Gear Reviews

When Nike goes in, they go in big, and aim to dominate. Their cleats and uniforms can be seen on lacrosse fields near and far, and their gloves, pads, heads, and shafts are showing up more and more. Where does Nike’s Vapor Lacrosse Shaft fit in to their lacrosse investment? Find out below!

East Coast Dyes Specialty Mesh

Gear Review: 15mm Mesh by East Coast Dyes

0 - Published November 13, 2013 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

Playing lacrosse in north Idaho, the weather comes in to play a lot during both the fall and spring season. I would always blame a bad pass on the weather or my bagged out mesh. The best solution I have found to extreme weather conditions is, wax mesh. If you want the best performance out of your wax mesh, East Coast Dyes is what you are looking for.

Gear Review: Surgeon 10 head by STX

0 - Published November 8, 2013 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

Billy Nguyen, of LaxAllStars, breaks down the Surgeon 10 lacrosse head by STX in his latest Gear Review. The review is based on a 10 point scale, see what kind of score Billy thinks it deserves.

Gear Review: Gonzo Mesh

0 - Published November 7, 2013 by in Gear, Gear Reviews, Mesh, Stringing

We got a nice little package at LAS HQ a few weeks back with 4 preformed Gonzo Mesh pieces (2 white, 2 glow-in-the-dark). “Gonzo Mesh is a special coated mesh covered in a secret recipe of ingredients that makes it superior to traditional soft or hard mesh pieces in every aspect. Traditional mesh pieces bag out and become inconsistent and unusable in the elements. Wax mesh pieces tent to lost their wax coating in a rapid fashion.”

Under Armour Charge Sci Ti lacrosse shaft

Gear Review: Charge Sci-Ti Lacrosse Shaft by Under Armour

0 - Published November 6, 2013 by in Gear Reviews, General

Colton Raichl of Lacrosse All Stars reviews the Charge Sci-Ti lacrosse shaft made by Under Armour. He has used the shaft in games all fall, now he’s ready to let you know his honest opinion.

Gear Review: NEW Proton Power by STX Lacrosse

0 - Published November 2, 2013 by in Gear Reviews

A couple weeks back, Andrew Ratzke reviewed the classic Proton Power, and had the usual issues with the stick (a tad flimsy, and tough to string), so as soon as I got my hands on a NEW Proton Power by STX, I had to see if any improvements had been made. Is the head tougher? Is it easier to string? If the answer to those two questions is yes, the Proton Power will take a big step up in the ratings department.

Gear Review: CEO U Lacrosse Head by Nike

0 - Published October 21, 2013 by in Gear Reviews, General

Nike has been slowly getting their foot in the door for a few years now. Their explosion in popularity in the Lakota head is what helped Nike really get some exposure. Now with the Ceo U, they are looking to build on that growth. Let’s get down to brass tax with an LAS Gear Review!

Warrior Dolomite 13 Shaft on LACROSSE.com

Gear Review: Dolomite 13 Shaft by Warrior Lacrosse

0 - Published October 8, 2013 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

The Warrior Dolomite 13 shaft is one of the lightest shafts on the market right now. Designed to provide players with maximum performance without the weight of heavier metal blends, this shaft is both sturdy and good looking.

STX dyed heads rainbow

Gear Review: Proton Power by STX Lacrosse

0 - Published October 4, 2013 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

The STX Proton Power has been a classic ever since Paul Rabil rocked the blue, black and white versions of the head at Hopkins. While it was designed to score, this head can do it all.

Gear Review: XLU Head by Gait Lacrosse

Gear Review: Recon XLU Head by Gait Lacrosse

0 - Published October 1, 2013 by in Gear, Gear Reviews

With its big release date finally here, we take a look at Gait’s newest offering, the Recon XLU head!

Wonderboy

Gear Review: Wonderboy Shaft by Maverik Lacrosse

0 - Published September 27, 2013 by in Gear Reviews

The Wonderboy is a shaft that’s been around for a few years, and with staying power like that you would expect it to be a great shaft. So how does the newest edition of the Wonderboy stack up?

Edge X laxallstars

Gear Review: Edge X Superlight by Brine Lacrosse

0 - Published September 24, 2013 by in Gear Reviews

The Edge is famous for being an elite defensive head, and while this incarnation is no different, it does provide more versatility due to its universal specs and “Superlight” construction. As an offensive player, I was curious to see how I’d like this head, and was overall impressed with how it performed.