Dirty Hidden Ball Trick: Robert Morris vs. Notre Dame

Screen Shot 2012-02-06 at 11.07.47 AM

Robert Morris scrimmaged Notre Dame over the weekend and ran the hidden ball trick to perfection.  We have the play on video from the beginning of the whistle, and the two players never exchange the ball… which means?  They exchanged the ball BEFORE the whistle ever blew, and the RMU player may have started the play WITH possession INSIDE the restraining box.  Or he was just outside.  The two players are pretty close to each other, so we don’t think it was an illegal restart, but it’s possible.  We’d love a ref to speak up on that rule interpretation!

Either way, it’s run to absolute perfection.  I had to watch it three times just to figure out what was going on.  But that’s the point of a hidden ball trick anyway, isn’t it?  Trickeration.  We love it!  Also, RMU ran this on a man up opportunity.  Bonkers?  Perhaps.  Effective?  We’d say so!

So let that be a lesson to every team that plays RMU… they’re tricksy!


Special thanks to Andy Sharp for submitting this video! Got something LAS should see? You know where to find us.

About the author

Connor Wilson

Connor is the Publisher of He lives in Brooklyn with his better half, continues to play and coach both box and field lacrosse in NYC as much as possible, and covers the great game that is lacrosse full-time. He spends his spare time stringing sticks and watching Futurama.


Leave a Comment

Yes No