Chris Massey Lacrosse Brooklyn Brawl lax
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Jagermeister Wins 2nd Annual Brooklyn Brawl Over Team Jesse

In only its second year of existence, the Brooklyn Brawl is quickly emerging as a fantastic men’s lacrosse tournament. In 2011 the event drew four teams, while 2012 saw six teams compete: Jagermeister, Team Jesse, Sideline Swap, The Brooklyn LC, The Brooklyn Dodgers, and The Degenerates. Plans for 2013 include expansion yet again, this time to at least an eight team field.

Last year’s tournament victory was captured by Team Jesse over Jagermeister, and it was the club’s first tourney win ever. This year, the competition stepped up a notch, as will happen with an open age tournament, but miraculously, both TJ and Jager made it back to the finals.


Jagermeister had a tough game with Sideline Swap, but they pulled out a 7-5 win over the impressive SS crew. Jagermeister’s earlier 11-3 win over the Dodgers gave them a 2-0 record in their group, and that put them in the finals. Jager got some standout play from individuals, but also moved the ball well and used match ups nicely to create.

Team Jesse escaped the Degenerates 5-3 in an early afternoon game, and then bested the Brooklyn LC 11-4 to win their group. TJ played team ball all day long, with a lot of guys stepping up when called upon, and the club got great play from Nick Kammerman in cage, just like they did the year before.

In the Championship game, Jagermeister came out hot and took an early lead, but Team Jesse kept fighting and chipped away. In the end, Jagermeister pulled away a bit and got a great effort from their defense and goalies, to win 7-3. The temperatures dropped as the sun went down, but the action on the field was still intense.

People escaped the wind and cold at the tournament after party, which was held at the Brooklyn Bowl. Since the team that won was Jagermeister, I’ll let you guess as to what the celebratory beverage of choice was.

Chris Massey Lacrosse Brooklyn Brawl lax
Some action from 2011.

Rob Fox put together the Jagermeister team, and both Rob and Anthony Katagas have done a great job of building this tournament into something special. The talent at this event is only getting better and with players like Jerry Ragonese, James Synowiez, Marc DiGiovanni, Jeremy Guski, and many others impressing.

Here is a scoring rundown of all the day’s action:

Brooklyn LC 3, Sideline Swap 7
Degenerates 3, Team Jesse 5
Dodgers 3, Jagermeister 11
Team Jesse 12, Brooklyn LC 4
Sideline Swap 5, Jagermeister 7
Degenerates 9, Dodgers 2

Championship game:

Team Jesse 3, Jagermeister 7

The six teams started play at 1pm and played one game every hour, with 25 minute running halves, club rules, in an open tourney with no age restrictions. Players and teams from all over the  region (and even outside) came to Brooklyn for the event, and there were also a good number of local NYC guys in attendance.

If you and your team are interested in playing in the 2013 version of the Brooklyn Brawl, get in contact with us and we’ll put you in touch with the event organizers directly!