Grow the Game®

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Quick Sticks: USA vs. Canada to Start FIL Championship

It was announced today that USA will play Canada to start the FIL Wold Championships next year in Denver. Talk about starting off strong! If it is anything like their match-up in Denver this past fall, you know it’ll be a great one.

The presser also announced the full schedule of the Blue Division leading up to the Play-in games.

Which match-ups are you looking forward to most? We’ve bolded the games we will be sure to catch.

Check out the full press release below for more information.


Canada-USA to Open 2014 World Lacrosse Championship Schedule Federation of International Lacrosse Releases Blue Division Draw

The 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship will open with a bang, featuring a rematch of the 2010 championship game between Canada and the United States. Canada and the U.S. will meet on July 10, 2014 following the opening ceremonies to kick off the 2014 FIL World Championship, which is being run by US Lacrosse at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Denver.

Canada and the U.S. are both competing in the Blue Division, which features the top six teams from the 2010 FIL World Championship. The U.S. defeated Canada 12-10 in Manchester, England to win the 2010 world title, and they will be joined by Australia, England, Germany and Japan in the Blue Division.

“We couldn’t ask for a more exciting game to open the World Championships than to have the top two teams in the world facing off,” said Bill Schoonmaker, chief operating officer for US Lacrosse. “This will be one of many great opportunities fans will experience at the largest international lacrosse event in history.”

Overall, as many as 40 nations are expected to compete in the 2014 FIL World Championship, which will be run by US Lacrosse. That would easily surpass the previous record for the number of nations competing in the world championship. A total of 29 nations competed at the 2010 men’s world championship. The final lineup of teams will not be complete until early 2014, but the FIL has released the Blue Division Schedule, which features the top six teams from the 2010 championship:

Thursday, July 10
Opening Ceremonies
United States vs. Canada

Friday, July 11
Australia vs. Japan
Germany vs. England

Saturday, July 12
Japan vs. Germany
Australia vs. United States
Canada vs. England

Sunday, July 13
Germany vs. Canada
United States vs. Japan
England vs. Australia

Monday, July 14
Japan vs. Canada
Germany vs. Australia
England vs. United States

Tuesday, July 15
United States vs. Germany
Japan vs. England
Canada vs. Australia

Wednesday, July 16
Play-in Games (Teams 3-4 in the Blue Division advance to play-in games)

Thursday, July 17
Semifinals (Teams 1-2 in the Blue Division play the play-in game winners)

Saturday, July 19
Championship Game
Closing Ceremonies

Tickets for the 2014 FIL World Championship will go on sale to the general public on May 24, 2013. Registration is currently open for boys’ youth and men’s masters’ festivals that will be held in conjunction with the event at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. For more information, please visit