Team USA Wins 2009 FIL World Cup

Team USA Wins 2009 FIL World has some great content. I mean, not to sound arrogant or anything, but I’m just sayin’. Wheniwasakid & Mr. BS are crushin’ it daily, and things are only getting better. However, one thing LAS completely lacks in covering is Women’s Lacrosse.

While that may not change in the near future unless we get some girls interested in writing for LAS, I’ll try to fill the void a little with this post. Afterall, the U.S. Women’s Lacrosse Team DID just WIN the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup.

Team USA poses for a team photo on the field in Prague, Czech Republic after the gold medal victory over Australia.Team USA poses for a team photo on the field in Prague, Czech Republic after the gold medal victory over Australia.

On behalf of the entire LAS Team, I’d like to congratulate them on a job well done! You can too by leaving a note in the comments section.

From the official news release:

U.S. Wins FIL World Cup, Defeats Australia, 8-7

PRAGUE, Czech Republic — The U.S. defeated Australia, 8-7, in the final game of the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup. Team USA goalie Devon Wills (Denver, Colo./Dartmouth ’06) made seven saves and had three ground balls to earn Player of the Match honors. Caroline Cryer (Centennial, Colo./Duke ’09) led the U.S. in scoring with three goals. This is the sixth time that the U.S. has won the World Cup, and the fourth time they have defeated the Australians in the final.

Australia struck first when Melissa Williams (2g) caught a feed from Jen Adams (1g, 2a) at 25:49. The first half went back and forth between the two teams, with three ties and two lead changes, ending with a 3-3 tie at the break.

Team USA came out swinging in the second half with 5 unanswered goals, creating the largest lead of the game. Then, Australia gained momentum at 4:53 when U.S. goalie Wills received a yellow card for a push on Australian attacker Marlee Paton (1g). Melissa Williams scored on an open net on a free position to narrow the gap to 8-5. U.S. backup goalie Meghan Huether (Lutherville, Md./Duke ’06) entered the game for Wills as she served her 3 minute penalty. Australia rallied back with another goal to make it 8-6. Then, with just under two-minutes in the game, Heather Williams scored her second to create a one-goal game. U.S maintained possession for the next minute, running the clock down to preserve the win.

After a grueling two weeks of World Cup play, U.S. won the gold, Australia the silver and Canada the bronze.

The FIL World Cup takes place every four years. In 2005, when the championships were held in Annapolis, Md., Australia took home the gold, leaving the U.S. with the silver. Team USA is now 6-time World Cup champions (1982, 1989, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2009).

Michi Ellers (Swarthmore, Pa./Georgetown ’04) and Devon Wills (Denver, Colo./Dartmouth ’06) celebrate the 8-7 victory over Australia.

1. USA
2. Australia
3. Canada
4. England
5. Ireland
6. Wales
7. Japan
8. Scotland
9. Czech Republic
10. Germany
11. Haudenosaunee
12. New Zealand
13. Netherlands
14. Austria
15. Denmark
16. South Korea

The U.S. women’s national teams program is administered by US Lacrosse, the national governing body of the sport. deBeer Lacrosse is the official exclusive equipment and apparel supplier to the U.S. women’s national teams program.

Click here for more info on Team USA

Also, if you’d like to check out the action from recorded webcasts, you can do so here.

About the author

Jeff Brunelle

Jeff Brunelle is the founder and CEO of Lacrosse All Stars. A west coast native and product of the MCLA, Jeff moved back East after college and truly fell in love with the game. He now spends every waking moment building and Red Label Sports from our headquarters in Boise, Idaho.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Yes No