Grow the Game®

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

2019 Presidents Cup: Kahnawake to Host Senior B Box Lacrosse National Championship

The Canadian Lacrosse Association and the Kahnawake Mohawks are pleased to announce that the 2019 President’s Cup, Canada’s Senior B box lacrosse national championship, will be held in Kahnawake from August 26 to September 1.

The tournament will be held at the Kahnawake Sports Complex for the third time in its history. The Mohawks, who play out of the Quebec Senior Lacrosse League (QSLL), have previously hosted the national championship in 2000 and 2013.

BONUS: Click here for LaxAllStars’ full coverage of the 2018 Presidents Cup in Nanaimo, British Columbia.

“The Kahnawake Mohawks are excited to have the opportunity to once again host the President’s Cup here in our community,” said Greg Horn, General Manager, Kahnawake Mohawks. “We hosted a very successful tournament in 2013 and our goal is to provide local lacrosse fans with some unprecedented lacrosse action.”

The President’s Cup brings the champions of each Senior B provincial lacrosse league together under one roof to determine a national champion. The host Mohawks have captured the silver medal in 2016, 2013, 2004, 1979 and 1968.

“The Canadian Lacrosse Association is excited to return to Kahnawake and the hospitality of the Kahnawake Mohawk organization,” said AJ Jomha, Director of National Championships, Canadian Lacrosse Association. “In the past they have put on a first-class tournament and we have full confidence that they will step up again to make the President’s Cup a memorable event for all of those who attend.”

Last year’s tournament was hosted in Nanaimo, British Columbia and saw the St. Albert Miners win their third consecutive national title with an overtime win over the host Nanaimo Timbermen.

Additional information on the 2019 President’s Cup will be posted on the event website in the coming months.