News & gear by players, for players ★ Powered by Fivestar App ★ Grow The Game®
California MCLA WCLL

Cal Dominates WCLL-I Preseason Poll

2019 WCLL Division I Preseason Coaches Poll

Fresh off its first Western Collegiate Lacrosse League (WCLL) title in 18 years, Cal-Berkeley is the overwhelming favorite to repeat according to the preseason coaches poll released on Friday.

California MCLA WCLL

The Golden Bears (12-6), which advanced to the quarterfinals of the 2018 MCLA National Championships powered by Under Armour, grabbed nine of the 10 first place votes and were 12 points clear of second place Cal Poly (8-9).

UC Santa Barbara (7-8) returns to the WCLL after 10 years playing in the Southwestern Lacrosse Conference and checks in at No. 3 in the poll. Sonoma State (7-9) rounds out the top four.

In addition to UC Santa Barbara, Sierra Nevada (9-5 D-II) is new to WCLL-I this spring. The Eagles were the four-time defending champions in WCLL-II before making the leap this season.

With the two added teams, the WCLL will expand its playoffs from four team to six in 2019 with the top two teams earning byes into the semifinals.

1.    California    99    9
2.    Cal Poly    87    1
3.    UC Santa Barbara    80
4.    Sonoma State    65
5.    Santa Clara    60
6.    Sierra Nevada    43
7.    Dominican    38
8.    Stanford    35
9.    Nevada    23
10.    Chico State    18

2019 WCLL Division II Preseason Coaches Poll


With four-time conference champion Sierra Nevada moving to Division I starting this spring, UC Davis has assumed favorite status in the Western Collegiate Lacrosse League’s Division II preseason coaches poll.

The Aggies (10-6), which qualified for the 2018 MCLA National Championships powered by Under Armour as an at-large selection, snatched four of the five first-place votes.

UC Santa Cruz (8-5) grabbed the fifth first-place vote and was slotted second, seven points behind UC Davis.

Saint Mary’s (4-9) and Humboldt State (0-9) round out the top four of this five-team league.

Sierra Nevada’s move to Division I not only opened the door for UC Davis, but also dropped the WCLL-II below the six-team threshold needed to retain an automatic qualifying bid to nationals. As such, any team selected to the 2019 MCLA National Championships powered by Under Armour will do so as an at-large.

1.    UC Davis    24    4
2.    UC Santa Cruz    17    1
3.    Saint Mary’s    15
4.    Humboldt State    14
5.    San Jose State    11

Previous Article

Outside the Eight: Women's Lacrosse Podcast, Ep. 4

Next Article
LaxAllStars 2018 member survey

2018 Member Survey : Burn Your Answers

SPECIAL OFFER: Enter to win a PlayStation 5 + get exclusive early access to the Fivestar App!
Sign Up