News & gear by players, for players ★ Powered by Fivestar App ★ Grow The Game®
dylan molloy new york lizards mll

Dylan Molloy To Join New York Lizards

The New York Lizards MLL Lacrosse team today announced it has added Major League Lacrosse All-Star Dylan Molloy, the first overall pick in the 2017 MLL Collegiate Draft, to the 2019 roster.

The former star at Brown University and native of Setauket on Long Island played the last two seasons with the Florida Launch totaling 62 goals, 24 assists and 86 points over 22 games.

Last season, Molloy played in all 14 games for Florida and tallied 41 goals and 59 points on his way to being named an MLL All-Star but now he’s pumped up about coming home.

Get Early Access

"*" indicates required fields

A mobile app that empowers athletes and fans to create and enjoy their best sports highlights, + enter to win a Playstation 5. Learn more...
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

dylan molloy new york lizards mll
Photo courtesy of the New York Lizards

“I’m very excited,” said Molloy.  “I’ve always loved playing in front of the Long Island crowd especially at Hofstra.  I was fortunate enough to play there for high school championships, once in college and then in the MLL.  Every time I go in there it’s a thrill.  Having all of the Long Island fans as well as family there is really exciting.”

Molloy played for St. Anthony’s High School on Long Island and went on to a stellar career at Brown with a school record 197 goals and 318 points.  In his junior year in 2016, Molloy won the Tewaaraton Award given to the most outstanding college lacrosse player in the country.  He led the nation in scoring with 116 points on 62 goals and 54 assists as Brown went to the Final Four.

“As a college All-American and a Tewaaraton Award winner and MLL Rookie of the Year, Dylan Molloy has always brought tremendous skill, athleticism and will to win,” said Lizards Head Coach B.J. O’Hara.  “Having him in a Lizards uniform will bring so much to our organization.  Kudos to General Manager Joe Spallina and our ownership for bringing him to the 2019 Lizards.”

There are a lot of reasons why Molloy chose to play for the Lizards and one of them is certainly the opportunity to play for a legendary coach.  O’Hara has won four Major League Lacrosse championships including last season with the Denver Outlaws.  Molloy now has the opportunity to play for a coach who has won nine of his last ten post-season games.

“I’m very excited,” said Molloy.  “I’m definitely excited to be working with him and playing for him and see what he’s got up his sleeve for this year.”

Dylan Molloy joins a Lizards roster full of outstanding players including the likes of Mark Matthews and Kevin Crowley.  He is the latest piece of the puzzle as the Lizards continue to leave no stone unturned in their quest for the fourth MLL championship in team history.  That opportunity is a big reason why Molloy is now playing for his hometown team.

“Those guys are great players,” said Molloy.  “I haven’t been able to play alongside many of them but I’m definitely excited for the opportunity to build a relationship and get a chance on the field with those guys that are spoken so highly of and are great players.  “I am very confident that we will be competing for (a championship).”

The Lizards begin their 2019 Major League Lacrosse season in the home opener on Friday, May 31st against the Denver Outlaws at Hofstra University.  The 7:30 pm contest will be preceded by the first ever New York Lizards Town Cup featuring four championship games between teams from Nassau and Suffolk County that will begin at 4:30 pm.

About New York Lizards

The New York Lizards of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) were found in 2001 as one of the original six franchises. Formerly the Long Island Lizards, the team won the Steinfeld Cup in its inaugural season, 2001, as well as in 2003, and 2015. The New York Lizards are owned by majority owner Medallion Financial Corp, Vice Chairman, Richard Mack, and other investors. In the 2019 season, the Lizards will play all eight of their home games at Hofstra University’s James M. Shuart Stadium. For more information or to purchase tickets, please go to

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in 2001 and is currently playing its nineteenth season. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of six teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, and the New York Lizards.

Previous Article
2019 mcla national tournament

2019 MCLA National Tournament: USC, Idaho Move On

Next Article
nll playoffs

NLL Playoffs: Round 1 Mayhem