Grow the Game®

1981 Men's Lacrosse
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

From the Vault: 1981 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Champions

Each week we will be diving into the vault and bringing some history to the youngsters who just don’t know what they don’t know. This week, we will be looking at the 1981 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse champions.

It’s important to note that the women’s game did not have NCAA championships of any kind until 1982. Lacrosse was one of twelve women’s sports that the NCAA added championships for during the 1981-82 school year.

NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Champions

Division 1

North Carolina (14) vs Johns Hopkins (13)

The Blue Jays couldn’t secure back-to-back national championships during the 1981 season as the Tar Heels narrowly clinched their first ever men’s lacrosse championship. North Carolina was led by Coach Willie Scroggs, who led the team to a 12-0 record and an epic come from behind victory in the national championship. Attackmen Jeff Cook of Johns Hopkins, was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Division 2

Loyola (14) vs Adelphi (17)

After falling in the 1980 NCAA National Championship game, Adelphi was able to regain the title in 1981 which was their second title in three years. The Panthers were coached by Paul Doherty. 1981 would be their final NCAA Division 2 Men’s Lacrosse tournament until 1993.

Division 3

Hobart (10) vs Cortland (8)

In a rematch of the 1980 final, the defending champions Hobart defeated Cortland 10–8, to win their second NCAA Division 3 National Championship in a row. This was the second national championship in a run of ten straight championships under the tutelage of Dave Urick. Coach Urick was the recipient of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association’s Francis L. “Babe” Kraus Award awarded to the coach of the year.

Next Week

Next week we will be taking a look at the 1982 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse Champions. 1982 was the first year that the women’s game had a national championship.