Grow the Game®

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

NAIA Names 2023 Men’s Lacrosse All-American Selections

Fresh off a thrilling title game victory against Indiana Tech, Keiser picked up four NAIA Lacrosse All-Americans, and Head Coach Patrick Johnston won Coach of the Year. Johnston led his team to a 17-1 season that ended with the Seahawk’s first NAIA Lacrosse National Championship. With the win, Keiser ended the Reinhardt dynasty, which had won every title until this season.

 AJ Badik, Cam Provines, Christian Tomei, and Jackson Marshall received First Team All-American honors for their performances during Keiser’s breakout season. Tomei backstopped the Seahawks to the title by setting school records in wins and saves and finished with a 68.9 save percentage, which led the nation. Provines picked up his second All-American honor by recording a career-high .737 faceoff win percentage and picking up 157 groundballs. Marshall picks up his first All-American honor after having a stellar season on the back end. He caused 23 turnovers and picked up 38 groundballs for the Seahawks. Rounding out the award winners is Badik, who scored 41 goals this season, including eight in the championship game while picking up Tournament MVP.

Joining the First Team are three members of runner-up Indiana Tech. Attackman Nate Langille, midfielder Josh Bramley, and defender Tom Piotrowski were named First Team All-American. Langille led the team in points and assists, recording the sixth most in the NAIA in both categories. He finished the season with 82 points on 42 goals and 40 assists. Bramley was one of three midfielders named to the First Team. He was a force to be reckoned with in the midfield all season, as he picked up 72 points on 42 goals and 30 assists. Piotrowski, a senior from Brookfield, Wisconsin, garnered his second straight First Team All-American honors after a stellar season on defense for the Warriors. He led the Warriors and the NAIA in caused turnovers with 57 while also picking up 74 groundballs.

Cameron Cochran of Reinhardt (Ga.) picked up the Player of the Year and First Team All-American honors. Cochran ranked second in the nation in points (104) and assists (56). The senior posted season career-highs in goals (48), assists (56), and points (104). He also helped lead his team to the NAIA Lacrosse National Tournament Quarterfinals this season after helping the Eagles win multiple national titles in years past. Joining Cochran with NAIA First Team All-American honors is teammate Matt Potvin. Potvin is a senior defender for the Eagles and repeats as an All-American.

Breck Putzier became William Penn’s first First Team All-American in program history. Putzier led the entire NAIA in most offensive categories, scoring 68 goals with 60 assists for 128 points. He also tallied 50 groundballs and caused 15 turnovers.

Damien Hudson was Lawrence Tech’s lone All-American. Hudson played in all 12 games for the Blue Devils, accumulating 42 goals, 20 assists, and 62 total points. Chrystian Coleman was the University of Cumberlands’ lone First Team selection at defensive midfield. Coleman repeated as the NAIA First Team All-American Defensive Midfielder after he tallied a team-high 78 groundballs to go along with 29 caused turnovers and 19 points on the year. 

Siena Heights Ethan Wissink rounds out the team at the LSM Position. Wissink, a sophomore long-stick midfielder, was vital for SHU on both ends of the field. In the offensive zone, he had 14 goals and three assists. Wissink was one of Siena Heights’ top ball controllers with a team-high 25 caused turnovers. He finished second on the team with 62 groundballs.

All of the selections are made by the All-American Committee and are comprised of First and Second Teams. The NAIA only gives out one Player of the Year Award that can be at any position.

NAIA Lacrosse First Team All-Americans

Cameron CochranReinhardt (Ga.)Att.
Nate LangilleIndiana TechAtt.
Breck PutzierWilliam Penn (Iowa)Att.
AJ BadikKeiser (Fla.)Mid.
Damien HudsonLawrence Tech (Mich.)Mid.
Josh BramleyIndiana TechMid.
Jackson MarshallKeiser (Fla.)Def.
Matt PotvinReinhardt (Ga.)Def.
Tom PiotrowskiIndiana TechDef.
Chrystian ColemanCumberlands (Ky.)DM
Ethan WissinkSiena Heights (Mich.)LSM
Cam ProvinesKeiser (Fla.)Face-Off
Christian TomeiKeiser (Fla.)GK

NAIA Lacrosse Second Team All-Americans

Chase JacksonWebber (Fla.)Att.
Christian VanoverCumberlands (Ky.)Att.
Vincent DeMarcoOttawa (Kan.)Att.
Jordan RodriguezBenedictine (Kan.)Mid.
Boston RomeroWilliam Penn (Iowa)Mid.
Jake GallaherSiena Heights (Mich.)Mid.
Kent WestrickMadonna (Mich.)Def.
Sam AndersonIndiana TechDef.
Jordan ElamWebber (Fla.)Def.
Noah SorensonConcordia (Mich.)DM
Ezequiel CeantReinhardt (Ga.)LSM
Joe BianchiBenedictine (Kan.)Face-Off
Bryce PeltierColumbia (Mo.)GK