will manny umass lacrosse
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Reader Poll: Who Will Win The Men’s Tewaaraton Award?

We can’t even begin to describe the excellence that is the Tewaaraton Award, college lacrosse’s version of the Heisman Trophy.  The list of past winners is an impressive group of collegiate lacrosse players, and every single one of those winners is still involved with lacrosse in a major way.  Tewaaraton Award winners are excellent players, great role models and Game Growers.

Today we want to know who YOU think is going to win the 2012 Men’s Tewaaraton Award. It’s time for the greatest fans of the game, and the readers of the best lacrosse site on the web, to make their voices heard!

Before you vote, let’s take a look at each of the 2012 Men’s Finalists.

Does Will Manny have what it takes to win the Tewaaraton?
Could Will Manny take home hardware even though his team's season has ended?

2012 Men’s Finalists

Peter Baum, Colgate – Peter has scored more points than anyone else in the country this year. He set Colgate and Patriot League records, and he dominated in every game he played. He could easily break 100 points this season. Colgate is still alive and fighting, facing Duke this weekend.

CJ Costabile, Duke – Costabile wins face-offs, he plays great 1-v-1 defense on some of the best offensive players in the nation, and he’s the leader of an athletic Duke defense. He also puts the biscuit in the basket like the best of them.  One of the most skilled and versatile LSMs, possibly ever. CJ and Duke face Colgate this weekend.

Will Manny, UMass – UMass is done for the year, and it’s rare that someone wins the Award if their team isn’t in the final four, but it’s certainly possible.  Manny was huge for UMass all year and made impossible plays look easy on a team that lost only one game.

Mike Sawyer, Loyola – Loyola has talent all over the place, and they play team lacrosse, so this makes the fact that Sawyer stands out all the more important.  45 goals during the regular season didn’t hurt either.  He’s the spark that puts Loyola over the top and makes them a contender.  Loyola plays Denver this weekend in what we expect to be a great game.

Steele Stanwick, Virginia – If any of the teams above win it all, their guy probably takes the award.  But if none of them do, or UVA takes it?  Stanwick could win it for the second year in a row.  Steele does it all for the Cavs… he runs the show and he is a human highlight reel. Easily one of the smartest QBs in the attack position in years. Virginia plays Notre Dame this weekend, and Stanwick will have to shine.

2011 Tewaaraton Award - Steele Stanwick, Jim Brown
Jim Brown congratulating Steele Stanwick at the 2011 Tewaaraton Award ceremony

Reader Poll: Which Men’s Player will win the 2012 Tewaaraton Award?

Which Men’s Player will win the 2012 Tewaaraton Award?
Got a good reason for your pick? Drop knowledge in the new & improved comments section below!