Grow the Game®

2020 tewaaraton award
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Tewaaraton Award Announces 2021 Men’s and Women’s Finalists

WASHINGTON, May 14 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the five men’s and five women’s finalists for the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, presented annually to the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

The presentation of the 2021 men’s and women’s Tewaaraton recipients will be made during halftime of the 5 p.m Premier Lacrosse League game between Whipsnakes and Chaos on June 5 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. The game will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network.

“We are incredibly proud of these talented student-athletes and all they’ve accomplished this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “We wish them the best of luck during this year’s NCAA Tournament and look forward to what will be an exciting announcement with our Premier Lacrosse League partners live on the field in Gillette Stadium.”

This year’s finalists feature two returning men’s finalists from 2019 in Maryland’s Jared Bernhardt (the 2021 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year) and Michael Sowers, who was a finalist two years ago with Princeton and was first-team All-ACC with Duke in 2021. Additionally, Georgetown’s Jake Carraway was the Big East Attack Player of the Year, Chris Gray was the ACC’s Offensive Player of the Year, and Pat Kavanagh was first-team All-ACC.

On the women’s side, Jamie Ortega was the ACC’s Attacker of the Year, Taylor Moreno was the ACC’s Defender of the Year, and Charlotte North was first-team All-ACC, while Lizzie Colson was the Big Ten’s Defender of the Year and Izzy Scane was the Big Ten’s Attacker of the Year.

2021 Tewaaraton Finalists

Men’s 2021 Tewaaraton Finalists

Jared Bernhardt, Maryland – Sr., Attack

Jake Carraway, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Attack

Chris Gray, North Carolina – Sr., Attack

Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Soph., Attack

Michael Sowers, Duke – Grad. Student, Attack

Women’s 2021 Tewaaraton Finalists

Lizzie Colson, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense

Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Sr., Goalie

Charlotte North, Boston College – Sr., Attack

Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Sr., Attack

Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Jr., Attack

The Tewaaraton recipients will be chosen at the conclusion of the 2021 college lacrosse season by selection committees comprised of premier college coaches who are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

This year’s initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced March 11. Additions to the Watch Lists were announced on April 2, and the nominees. 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees were announced April 22.