Grow the Game®

2018 NLL Entry Draft - Austin Staats
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

2018 NLL Entry Draft in the Books

Ahead of the National Lacrosse League’s (NLL) 33rd season, the 2018 NLL Entry Draft took place on Tuesday, September 25 at Xfinity Live! in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. With the season set to begin on December 1, the newest batch of rookies will look to make their marks on their respective new teams.

We are incredibly excited to welcome all of the players selected in tonight’s draft into our great league. We believe this season will see as much action and parity as ever with the inclusion of these players and are ecstatic for Face Off Weekend to come as soon as possible.

NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz

After winning a coin flip against the Philadelphia Wings during halftime of Game 2 of the NLL Finals on June 2, the San Diego Seals were awarded the first pick and selected Austin Staats out of Onondaga Community College. Philadelphia followed by selecting Chris Cloutier from the University of North Carolina. Then, in back-to-back picks, the Buffalo Bandits selected Matt Gilray and Ian MacKay.

We feel very fortunate to be able to add two impact players at the beginning of this draft. We feel that adding both of them to an already established young hungry group can only lead to good things for Banditland this season.

– Bandits General Manager Steve Dietrich

Full details from the 2018 NLL Entry Draft, including all 74 selections, can be viewed below.

2018 NLL Entry Draft Results


1. San Diego – Austin Staats, Onondoga C.C.

2. Philadelphia – Chris Cloutier, University of North Carolina

3. Buffalo (from Vancouver) – Matt Gilray, Bucknell University

4. Buffalo – Ian MacKay, University of Vermont

5. Saskatchewan (from Toronto) – Connor Robinson, High Point University

6. Calgary – Shane Simpson, University of North Carolina

7. *Georgia (from New England via Calgary) – Brendan Bomberry, Syracuse University

8. Georgia – Adam Wiedemann, Belmont Abbey College

9. Rochester (from Colorado) – James Barclay, Providence College

10. San Diego (from Rochester via Saskatchewan) – Connor Fields, University of Albany

11. San Diego (from Saskatchewan) – Connor Kearnan, Canisius College

12. Calgary (compensatory selection) – Eli Salama, Rochester Institute of Technology

13. Calgary (compensatory selection) – Reece Callies, Colorado Mesa University


14. Philadelphia – Trevor Baptiste, University of Denver

15. San Diego – Rylan Hartley, Orangeville Northmen, Jr A

16. Rochester (from Vancouver via Saskatchewan) – Luke Van Shepen, Siena College

17. San Diego (from Buffalo) – Graydon Bradley, Coquitlam

18. Georgia (from Toronto) – Joel Tinney, Johns Hopkins University

19. Georgia (from Calgary via Buffalo) – Steven Orleman, Brampton Excelsiors

20. Georgia (from New England) – LeRoy Halftown, New York Institute of Technology

21. **Vancouver (from Georgia) – Travis Burton, Brampton Excelsiors

22. Colorado – Kyle Killen, Rochester Institute of Technology

23. * Calgary (from Rochester via Georgia) Adam Dickson, High Point University

24. Toronto (from Saskatchewan via New England) – Brad Lyons, Peterborough Lakers

25. Philadelphia – James Leary, University of Vermont

26. New England (from San Diego) – Jackson Nishimura, Toronto Beaches


27. San Diego – Derek Lloyd, Stony Brook University

28. Philadelphia – Justin Guterding, Duke University

29. Vancouver – Nate Wade, Tusculum University

30. Colorado (from Buffalo) – Dennon Armstrong, Coquitlam Adanacs

31. New England (from Toronto) – Ethan Woods, Barrie Lakeshore

32. Vancouver (from Calgary via New England) – Jean-Luc Chetner, Towson University

33. San Diego (from New England) – Connor Kelly, University of Maryland

34. ***New England (from Georgia) – Tal Bruno, Johns Hopkins University

35. Colorado – Julian Garritano, Sacred Heart University

36. Rochester – Oran Horn, Mercyhurst University

37. Saskatchewan – Ryan McLean, Calgary Mountaineers

38. San Diego – Jules Heningburg, Rutgers University

39. Philadelphia – Kyle Staveley, Orangeville Northmen


40. ****Rochester (from Philadelphia) – Nick Demude, St. Catharines Athletics

41. San Diego – Austin Divitcos, Rutgers University

42. Vancouver – Dallas Wade, Tusculum University

43. Buffalo – Devlin Shanahan, Mimico Jr A

44. Toronto – AJ Kluck, University of Albany

45. Calgary – Carter Dickson, St. Leo University

46. Georgia (from New England) – Justin Lemcke, Whitby Warriors

47. Georgia – John Sexton, University of Notre Dame

48. Colorado – Dylan Laprade, Burlington

49. Rochester – Dawson Theede, Whitby Warriors

50. San Diego (from Saskatchewan) – Zach Bryant, Robert Morris University

51. Philadelphia – Christian Cuccinello, Villanova University

52.  San Diego – Zac Christiansen, Robert Morris University


53. San Diego – Sean Mayle, University of Denver

54. Philadelphia – Connor Keating, University of Pennsylvania

55. Vancouver – Braylon Lumb, Victoria Jr A

56. Calgary (from Buffalo) – Sean Tyrrell, UMass Lowell

57. Toronto – Scott Dominey, Orangeville Northmen

58. Calgary – Tyson Kirkness, Coquitlam Adanacs

59. New England – Dereck Downs, Wheeling Jesuit University

60. Georgia – Tanner Poole, Barrie Jr A

61. Georgia (from Colorado) – Nolan Apers, Lehigh University

62. Rochester – Dylan Riley, Davenport University

63. Saskatchewan – Dalton Lupul, Wheeling Jesuit University


64. Philadelphia – Michael Rexrode, Rutgers University

65. San Diego – Jake Cook, Providence College

66. Vancouver – Jon Phillips, UMass Lowell

67. Saskatchewan (from Buffalo) – Tyler Gaulton, Limestone College

68. Toronto – Mitch Gustavsen, Toronto Beaches

69. Calgary – Chase McIntyre, Jacksonville University

70. New England – Matthew Lee, Wheeling Jesuit University

71. Georgia – Sawyer Howell, Mimico Jr A

72. Colorado – Steven Lee, Burlington Chiefs

73. Rochester – Leeland Powless, Six Nations Arrows

74. Saskatchewan – Zach Gould, Saskatchewan Jr A

*The Calgary Roughnecks have traded the 7th selection in the 2018 NLL Entry Draft and Holden Cattoni to the Georgia Swarm for Jesse King and the 23rd selection in the 2018 Entry Draft.

**The Georgia Swarm have traded the 21st selection in the 2018 NLL Entry Draft and a fourth round selection in the 2020 Entry Draft to the Vancouver Warriors in exchange for their second round selection in the 2019 Entry Draft.

***The Georgia Swarm have traded the 34th selection in the 2018 Entry Draft to the New England Black Wolves in exchange for their third round selection in the 2021 Entry Draft.

****The Philadelphia Wings have traded the 40th selection in the 2018 Entry Draft to the Rochester Knighthawks in exchange for their fourth round selection in the 2019 Entry Draft.

The 2018 NLL Entry Draft marked the NLL’s first broadcast with B/R Live ahead of the 2018-19 Season. Teaming up with B/R Live for the coming season, don’t miss all the National Lacrosse League action live at or on the B/R Live app.