News & gear by players, for players ★ Powered by Fivestar App ★ Grow The Game®

2018 Tewaaraton Award Ceremony airing on LaxAllStars

The 2018 Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will air live on Lacrosse All Stars this Thursday, May 31 at 7:30pm ET. We’re thrilled to broadcast the show for lacrosse fans to watch 100% free of charge. The LaxAllStars media platform will power live streaming of the Ceremony, making it available to view in households worldwide via YouTube, Twitter, Facebook,, and

It’s important to us that all people around the world get the opportunity to watch the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony and learn from its unique programming. LaxAllStars makes the perfect partner because what we do completely aligns with their mission the grow the game through media. We have a great show in store for fans next week thanks to the Tewaaraton’s new title sponsor, the IWLCA!

– Sarah Aschenbach

Tune in Thursday, May 31 at 7:30pm ET

The Tewaaraton Award, which recently brought on the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association as its presenting sponsor, brings top Division I lacrosse players, their coaches and leaders of the game together to recognize the most outstanding men’s and women’s athletes at the end of each season. The event is held in Washington, D.C., just blocks away from the United States Capital. Former Georgetown standout Sheehan Stanwick and Joe Beninati, announcer for the NHL’s Washington Capitals, return as hosts of the 2018 show.

2018 Tewaaraton Award Finalists Video


Sign up to get exclusive early access to Fivestar App, the world's first and only sports highlight rating app.

BONUS: You'll be entered to win a brand new PlayStation 5 when you register today!


For us here at LaxAllStars, it’s a real honor and privilege to share this announcement. In its eighteen year history, the Tewaaraton Foundation has been dedicated to growing the game through college scholarship funds for underprivileged Native youth in the United States. The Award goes to the best collegiate lacrosse players who have a tendency to become the greatest ambassadors for our game.

Look no further than Matt Danowski (2007) and Ned Crotty (2010), assistant coaches for the Duke men’s lacrosse team, as examples. Each received the award during his respective playing days for the Blue Devils. Now an attackman for Duke who’s studied under them for four years is a front runner for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award.

Other notable recipients of the Tewaaraton Award include Mike Powell, Kyle Harrison, Tom Schreiber, Miles and Lyle Thompson, Taylor Cummings, WPLL commissioner Jen Adams. A complete list of recipients can be found below.

Overall, the Tewaaraton Foundation continues to build momentum and strengthen its leadership of the lacrosse industry. With its new backing from the IWLCA and an increased focus on inclusive fundraising events, the organization is poised to reach more youth lacrosse players than ever before this year.

The team at LaxAllStars feels blessed to be a part of these efforts, and we look forward to seeing what the future holds for the 2018 finalists.

Complete List of Tewaaraton Award Recipients

Men’s NCAA Division I

Year | Winner | Position | School

2017 – Matt Rambo – Attack – University of Maryland

2016 – Dylan Molloy – Attack – Brown University

2015 – Lyle Thompson – Attack – University at Albany

2014 – Lyle & Miles Thompson – Attack – University at Albany

2013 – Rob Pannell – Attack – Cornell University

2012 – Peter Baum – Attack – Colgate University

2011 – Steele Stanwick – Attack – University of Virginia

2010 – Ned Crotty – Attack – Duke University

2009 – Max Seibald – Midfield – Cornell University

2008 – Mike Leveille – Attack – Syracuse University

2007 – Matt Danowski – Attack – Duke University

2006 – Matt Ward – Attack – University of Virginia

2005 – Kyle Harrison – Midfield – Johns Hopkins University

2004 – Michael Powell – Attack – Syracuse University

2003 – Chris Rotelli – Midfield – University of Virginia

2002 – Michael Powell – Attack – Syracuse University

2001 – Doug Shanahan – Midfield – Hofstra University

Women’s NCAA Division I

Year | Winner | Position | School

2017 – Zoe Stukenberg – Midfield – University of Maryland

2016 – Taylor Cummings – Midfield – University of Maryland

2015 – Taylor Cummings – Midfield – University of Maryland

2014 – Taylor Cummings – Midfield – University of Maryland

2013 – Katie Schwarzmann – Midfield – University of Maryland

2012 – Katie Schwarzmann – Midfield – University of Maryland

2011 – Shannon Smith – Attack – Northwestern University

2010 – Caitlyn McFadden – Midfield – University of Maryland

2009 – Hannah Nielsen – Midfield – Northwestern University

2008 – Hannah Nielsen – Midfield – Northwestern University

2007 – Kristen Kjellman – Midfield – Northwestern University

2006 – Kristen Kjellman – Midfield – Northwestern University

2005 – Katie Chrest – Attack – Duke University

2004 – Amy Appelt – Midfield – University of Virginia

2003 – Rachael Becker – Defense – Princeton University

2002 – Erin Elbe – Attack – Georgetown University

2001 – Jen Adams – Attack – University of Maryland

Previous Article
Saint Leo's Merrimack NCAA D2 Championship 2018 Championships

Merrimack Steamrolls Saint Leo's for First DII National Championship

Next Article
yale bulldogs national title: how they did it ncaa bracketlogy

Five Factors Fetch Yale Bulldogs First-Ever National Title