Grow the Game®

2020 US Men's U19 Lacrosse Team us lacrosse
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

2020 U.S. Men’s U19 Training Team Announced

US Lacrosse has announced that 32 players have been named to the 2020 U.S. Men’s U19 Training Team.

Head coach Nick Myers and his staff made the selections following a three-day tryout weekend involving 50 players that concluded at US Lacrosse headquarters on Sunday.

“It was an incredible three days, more than we could have asked for as coaches,” said Myers, the head coach at Ohio State who also led the 2016 U.S. U19 team to a gold medal at the last world championship. “The men gave an outstanding effort and they all really helped cement the foundation of this team. We, as staff, are grateful for how open the men were to being coached and challenged to chase Team USA standards.

2020 US Men's U19 Lacrosse Team
Photo courtesy John Strohsacker / US Lacrosse

“The process of narrowing the roster gets tougher and tougher every time we get together. We impressed upon the men that this 50 would truly play a big role in developing our team identity and they most certainly did. We feel strongly that the training roster selected is a talented group of men that understand the mission and appreciate the work that lies ahead. We are excited to get back after in in November and take on our first outside competition.”

A total of 104 players attended the initial tryout for the team in June and 50 players were invited to the most recent round of tryouts. The roster will eventually be pared to 23, the maximum number allowed for international competition under World Lacrosse rules.

The training team will hold a camp at Ohio State in November for its final event in 2019. There will be additional training camps in 2020 leading up to the World Lacrosse Men’s U19 World Championship from July 9-18 in Limerick, Ireland.

The 32 players on the training team come from high schools in 12 different states and represent 16 different college programs (enrollment and verbal commitments).

The United States is the only nation to have won the World Lacrosse Men’s U19 Championship, having rallied to beat Canada 13-12 in 2016 on Ryan Conrad’s game-winning goal with just eight seconds remaining. That was the eighth straight world championship for the U.S., which also won gold medals in 1988, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2008 and 2012.

The U.S. men’s national team trains and plays using best-in-class products provided by Nike (apparel and footwear), Cascade (helmets), Warrior (equipment), SISU Guard (mouthguards), The Pearl by Guardian (balls) and DJO (sports braces).

In addition to these partners, Greenfields, Krossover, MedStar Sports Medicine and Sports Performance Tracking are officials sponsors of Team USA. Team training is also aided by products from Motive Pure, NormaTec Recovery and Athletic Republic.

2020 U.S. Men’s U19 Training Team

Name Pos High School HS Grad College Commitment
Michael Alexander D West Islip (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Emmett Barger M St. Anne’s Belfield (Va.) 2019 Notre Dame
Edward Sutton Boland D Victor (N.Y.) 2019 Penn State
Jackson Bonitz D McDonogh (Md.) 2020 Navy
Graham Bundy Jr. M MICS (Mo.) 2019 Georgetown
BJ Burlace D St. Mary’s (Md.) 2019 Yale
Connor Calderone FO Smithtown West (N.Y.) 2019 Maryland
Gregory Campisi D St. Anthony’s (N.Y.) 2019 Harvard
Jake Caputo M Middle Creek (N.C.) 2019 Duke
Connor Drake M Salisbury School (Conn.) 2019 Duke
Liam Entenmann G Chaminade (N.Y.) 2019 Notre Dame
Brendan Grimes M Boys’ Latin (Md.) 2020 Johns Hopkins
Patrick Hackler M Skaneateles (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Cole Herbert M Calvert Hall (Md.) 2020 North Carolina
Patrick Kavanagh A Taft School (Conn.) 2019 Notre Dame
Daniel Kelly A Calvert Hall (Md.) 2020 North Carolina
Cole Kirst A Seton Hall Prep (N.J.) 2018 Lehigh
Cole Krauss D Delbarton (N.J.) 2020 Duke
Quentin Matsui D Eden Prairie (Minn.) 2019 Virginia
Grant Mitchell M Calvert Hall (Md.) 2019 Ohio State
Connor Mitchell M Calvert Hall (Md.) 2019 Ohio State
Jack Monfort M Syosset (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Owen Murphy A Avon Old Farms (Conn.) 2019 Johns Hopkins
Jake Naso FO St. Anthony’s (N.Y.) 2020 Virginia
Brennan O’Neill A St. Anthony’s (N.Y.) 2020 Duke
Jared Paquette G West Islip (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Ryan Schriber D Wilton (Conn.) 2019 Michigan
Alex Slusher A Oregon Episcopal School (Ore.) 2019 Princeton
Jacob Snyder D Calvert Hall (Md.) 2019 Ohio State
Alec Stathakis FO Culver Military (Ind.) 2019 Denver
Lance Tillman A Valor Christian (Colo.) 2019 North Carolina
Christian Tomei G Oxbridge Academy (Fla.) 2019 Ohio State