Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Final Results: Vail 2013

The results are in, the champions have been crowned, the players have mostly left the inclined village, and Vail is done for 2013. Let’s sort out this year’s winners, with a little help from the Vail Lacrosse Shootout Press Releases, which are always chock full of info.

Photo Credit: Clark Bell

Also check out our Quick Update on Vail from earlier in the week.

Men’s Elite

The Men’s Elite was as competitive as ever, with All Out edging LacrosseWear 16-15 in Double OT. All Out got two goals to LacrosseWear’s one in the two OT Periods (not sudden death), and both were scored by Billy Ward. Nick Ossello’s face off wins, and two point shots were a difference maker for All Out.


Brine Elite took home 3rd place with a 12-5 win over Big Green Herd. Adrenaline Tropics took fifth with a 13-7 win over Rocky Mountain Oysters, and Millennium beat Denver CityLax 9-8 for 7th place.

All-Tournament Team

Offensive MVP – Nick Ossello – All Out
Defensive MVP – Bobby Tait – All Out
High Scorer – Colin Reegan – Lacrossewear
Kieran McArdle – Lacrossewear
Grant Whiteway – Brine Elite
Todd Heritage – Big Green Herd
Billy Ward – All Out
Colin Dunster – Lacrossewear
Nick Ossello – All Out
Ryan Danehy – Brine Elite
Rob Guida – Lacrossewear
Ryder Henery – Adrenaline Tropics
Austin Konkel – All Out
Goran Murray – Lacrossewear
Kevin Massa – Lacrossewear
Mike Pelligrino – Lacrossewear
Mike Novosel – Big Green Herd

US Lacrosse – Keeper of Lacrosse Award
Jim Carboneau

Women’s Elite

STX 13, Harrow Honeybadgers 3

Sparks flew in this championship game as soon as the first ball went into the air. Honeybadgers were not intimidated and combated the fast pace of Team STX. Although the score at half was 7-1 in favor of Team STX, Maggie Tamasitis, Tournament MVP from STX, had assisted four first half goals for her team. Molly Pais of Honeybadgers scored the first goal of the second half but Kitty Cullen responded with 2 goals of her own; one being a behind the back shot. Honeybadgers aggressiveness never dwindled as the game played came to an end.


All-Tournament Team

Beth Calder – Colorado Lacrosse Club
Emma-Lazaroff – Run Around Sue
Sonorah Vineyard – LOFers
Rachel Culp –
Cassie Ancarrow – Harrow Honeybadgers
Mary Zulty – Harrow Honeybadgers
Lauren Bobzin – Harrow Honeybadgers
Kitty Cullen – Team STX
Lauren Schmidt – Team STX
Sam Farrell – Team STX
Julie Gardner – Team STX
Kendall McBrearty – LOFers
Maggie Tamasitis – Team STX
Coach/Team Rep-
Nancy Baruch & Don Sherman – LOFers

Men’s Masters

Jagermeister/Force 5 13, Hulu 9

At the end of the first half Jager led 10-2 and looked to be cruising to a Masters title. Hulu wasn’t ready to give up though and mounted a comeback in the second half. Unfortunately for Hulu it was too little too late, as the gap was still four goals. Jager repeats as Vail Lacrosse Shootout Master’s division Champions.


All-Tournament Team

Matt Kirkpatrick – Silver Oysters
Bobby Magrin – Adrenaline
Marc Digovanni – Jagermeister/Force 5
Dave Leach – Middlebury
CJ Bickmore – Olympic Club
Jared McNichol – Hulu
Faceoff Midfielder
Jay Motta – Hulu
Long Stick Midfielder
PJ Martin – Jagermeister/Force 5
Derek Laub – Power-Tek
Rick Blocker – Buddha’s Ballers
Jed Raymond – Middlebury
Anthony Katagas – Jagermeister/Force 5
US Lacrosse – Keeper of Lacrosse Award
Steven Bridges – Vail Lacrosse Shootout Staff Member


I really do want to go out and play in Vail someday… but next Summer I’ll definitely be playing in Saratoga Springs, and that is immediately after Vail, so I’m really going to need to start training (RIGHT NOW!) if I want to be ready. Ballers all around!