Grow the Game®

toronto rock nll national lacrosse league box lacrosse pro lacrosse
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Jamie Dawick: Owner Of The Toronto Rock

Editor’s Note: This is the next article in our series of major figures in the professional lacrosse industry. We’ve started with the NLL, and today we are profiling Toronto Rock owner Jamie Dawick. You can read about the series here, and then check out our first feature on Georgia Swarm owners John and Andy Arlotta here. Use the hashtag #LeadersInLacrosse on social media.

Jamie Dawick: Owner, President & GM Of The Toronto Rock


Jamie Dawick purchased the Toronto Rock after the 2009 NLL season, which has won one championship (2011) since the deal, in addition to five NLL titles before the transfer of ownership (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005).

Dawick has the official titles of the owner, president and general manager of the Rock. Dawick recently received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Oakville Minor Lacrosse Association for his work in the lacrosse industry.

Dawick was named NLL Executive of the Year in 2013.

Another one of the big accomplishments that Dawick has had is the construction of the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre in Oakville, Ontario. The site opened in 2012 and hosts the team’s practice facility as well as the team’s offices. The location has hosted various NLL games, the NLL Entry Draft and the NLL Combine.

Dawick’s Career

Ownership Of The Rock

Since purchasing the Rock after the 2009 season, Dawick has had eight players from the franchise win some of the NLL’s major awards, with 11 people from the franchise winning such awards if you count Dawick’s NLL Executive of the Year award in 2013 and two other front office awards during that time.

Here is a list of the award-winners below:

Stephen LeBlanc – Rookie of the Year (2010)

Bob Watson – Champions Cup MVP (2011)

Garrett Billings – Sportsmanship Award (2011)

Troy Cordingley – Les Bartley Award (2013)

Jamie Dawick – Executive of the Year (2013)

Garrett Billings – Sportsmanship Award (2014)

Terry Sanderson – GM of the Year (2015)

Brodie Merrill – Transition Player of the Year (2017)

Tom Schreiber – Rookie of the Year (2017)

Challen Rogers – Transition Player of the Year (2019)

Terry Giberson – Executive of the Year (2019)

Dawick has also appeared numerous times on Lacrosse Classified, including during the collective bargaining agreement issue that happened during the previous NLL season (you can read more about that situation from Evan Schemenauer from the perspective before the resolution came about by clicking here. Additional context can be found here). Dawick appeared on the podcast nearly exactly a year later, and you can listen to that episode here.

Fun Facts

Dawick also has a heavy-interest in playing poker as a hobby. The NLL franchise owner has competed in various editions of the World Series of Poker Main Event. Dawick has also claimed that the lessons he has learned from poker have made him better in business.

“Like in the sports world, there are many ups and downs, and if I am unable to control my emotions at the poker table I can be eliminated from a tournament quickly while, in the sports world, I can make a bad trade or hurt my franchise for years to come.”

Jamie Dawick, Poker News


Below are a few fun clips from the history of the Rock franchise.

1999 NLL Championship: Rochester Knighthawks vs. Toronto Rock: YouTube User – CanadianMusic&TV

Toronto Rock NLL Championship Game All-Access: YouTube User – TorontoRockLaxx