Grow the Game®

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Star Recruits Shine at National Senior All-American Game

ANNAPOLIS – Virginia-bound McCabe Millon had a standout performance at the third-annual National Senior All-American Game on Friday night, propelling his team to a 15-13 victory over opposing rising college freshmen from across the country.

Star Rrecruits Shine at National Senior All-American Game

Millon, who co-captained the Americans team along with Duke commit Tomas Delgado, finished the night with 4 goals and 3 assists, earning the game’s Most Valuable Player award.  Gabriel Sorichetti, taking his talents to Johns Hopkins in the fall, was close behind with a hat-trick and an assist.

The Americans team was down one goal at the end of the first quarter to the opposing Nationals team, captained by North Carolina commit Owen Duffy and Ohio State commit Caleb Fyock.  Nationals goalkeeper Anderson Moore (Georgetown) scored a coast-to-coast goal halfway through the quarter to spark the offense.

The second quarter remained scoreless until Cooper Mueller (Princeton) scored in transition to tie the game.  The Americans team outscored the Nationals 4-2 during this stretch to end the half with a 9-8 lead.

The start of the second half saw just two goals and a battle of defenders, with Duke-bound goalkeeper Patrick Jameison holding the Nationals scoreless.  Jameison would go on to finish the game with 9 saves.

The game ended in dramatic fashion, with the Nationals going on a four-goal run to tighten the gap.  Attackman Nate Kabiri (Princeton) scored three of the team’s final five goals.  Defenseman Cole Aasheim (North Carolina) picked up a caused turnover and a shot by Walker Schwartz (Cornell) hit the pipe, but the Nationals’ final push ultimately came up short.

The Senior All-American teams were selected by national and regional coaches across the country as the highest-performing senior athletes in high school lacrosse during the Spring 2023 season.  The teams were coached by Notre Dame graduate Jack Simmons, the University of Virginia’s Noah Chizmar and Griffin Schutz, and the University of Maryland’s Ajax Zappitello, Eric Spanos, and Brian Ruppel.

Grace Kelly – July 7, 2023